Our people make Westbourne the special place that it is

Teaching aids, well-equipped classrooms and modern technology are nothing without the proper calibre of staff and Westbourne's teaching staff is without doubt out greatest asset.


Mr John Hicks M.Ed
Mr John Hicks M.Ed

Mr John Hicks M.Ed, started at Westbourne in September 2004. He was previously Head of Upper Secondary and Head of Campus at the International School of the Regents, Thailand.
Mr Hicks has three children.

Mr P Birbeck
Mr P Birbeck
Head of Senior School

Mr Birbeck MA (Cantab) PGCE has worked at Westbourne for over 10 years since moving to the area with his family; prior to that he lead successful Maths departments in large comprehensive state schools. Mr Birbeck has one daughter.

Mr J Clark
Mr J Clark
Head of Junior School

Mr Clark has been at Westbourne for over 11 years and has worked in a number of independent and maintained schools.
He joined the teaching profession in 1998 and has two teenage sons.

Mr A Tedcastle
Mr A Tedcastle
Deputy Head of Junior School

Mr Tedcastle BSc (Hons) PGCE QTS has been at Westbourne for the past eight years and Deputy Head for the past three years. He is also an active member of our Senior Management Team. Mr Tedcastle has a baby daughter.


Mr S Hinchliffe
Mr S Hinchliffe
Chairman. Local resident

Scott joined the Board of Governors in 2011 and was appointed Chairman in September 2014. He has been involved in a number of diversified businesses over the years. Scott has two young daughters.

Mr G Day
Mr G Day
Current Grandparent

Retired businessman Glenn joined the Board of Governors in April 2017. He brings with him a wealth of experience in marketing, sales and business development.
In May 2017 Glenn was appointed Vice President of Sheffield United FC.

Mr A Eaton
Mr A Eaton
Former Pupil

A former pupil and former parent. After 20 years living in the south of England Andrew moved back to Sheffield in 2008 so that his children, George and Sophie, could attend Westbourne. Andrew is a Financial Accountant.

Mr J Kenworthy
Mr J Kenworthy
Current Parent

Jon is a corporate partner in a global law firm He has particular expertise in public equity offerings, mergers and acquisitions and strategic joint ventures. Jon has a son in senior school.

Mrs J Wroth
Mrs J Wroth
Current Parent

Julia has worked in the NHS for 25+ years as a Registered General Nurse, Health Visitor & Practice Nurse in General Practice. She is a current parent of two sons in Senior and one in Junior school.

Mr D Merifield
Mr D Merifield
Current Parent

David is professionally qualified as a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators, He has 35+ years Commercial experience. David is a Director of East Midlands Chamber of Commerce and has a daughter at Westbourne.

Mr I Wileman
Mr I Wileman
Former Headmaster

Ian is the Sheffield Hallam University Link Tutor for trainee teachers, where he is also an Associate Lecturer. Ian was Head Teacher at Dore Primary School from 1986 to 2008 & a mentor to Head Teachers for the LEA for 10 years.

Mrs S Kay
Mrs S Kay
Parent of Former Pupil

Susan has a Batchelor of Science in Psychology, Masters in business & a Masters in Consulting and Coaching for change. She is an experienced Consultant and Executive coach. She has 2 daughters, one of whom attended Westbourne School.<...

Mr S Goodhart
Mr S Goodhart
Former Headmaster

Stephen is the former Head of Swanbourne House School & has a deep understanding of independent education, finance & the customer base and is experienced at board level.
He has particular expertise in strategic planning.

Mr I Loasby
Mr I Loasby
University of Sheffield

Mr M Schofield
Mr M Schofield
Current parent

Mrs J Leatherland
Mrs J Leatherland
Current parent

Senior Management Team
Mr J B Hicks Headmaster
Mr A Tedcastle BSc (Hons) Deputy Head of Junior School
Mr P Birbeck Head of Senior School
Mrs V Khan Bursar and Registrar
Mrs A Bywater Director of Marketing and Admissions
Mrs N Day Assistant Head for Well Being and Pastoral Care in Senior School
Mr P Bunton Director of Studies - Senior School and Head of Maths
Mr J Clark Head of Junior School
Mrs E Rees-Oxley BSc PGCE Advanced Early Years Head of Early Years & SENCo
Miss R Hall NVQ Level 3 Deputy Pre-School Leader
Mr E Familo BA (Hons) PGCE EYFS Practitioner
Miss M Moorhouse EYFS Practitioner
Miss L Sizer BA (Hons) Early Childhood Studies EYFS Practitioner
Miss S Wright EYFS Practitioner
Miss E Walsh EYFS Practitioner
Miss S Mansoor EYFS Practitioner
Junior School
Mrs N Kent BA (Hons) PGCE QTS Reception & Head of Early Years
Miss J Vickers BA (Hons) QTS Year 1
Mrs C Swift Foundation degree in EY Year 1 TA
Mrs L Gwilliam BA (Hons) Year 1
Miss E Ogden Year 1
Mr Matthew Hawker BA (Hons) PG DipEd MA Year 2
Mr M Etherton BA (Hons) QTS Year 2
Miss N Hinchliffe BSc (Hons) PGCE QTS Year 2 TA
Mr G Magenty BMus (Hons) PGCE QTS Forest School
Miss I Fay BA (Hons) QTS Year 3
Mr B Bray BA (Hons) Cache Level 3 Year 3 TA
Mrs C Whitmore BEd (Hons) Year 4
Mr R Lomax MA, BA (Hons) PGCE Year 4
Mrs J Paul BA (Hons) PGCE QTS Year 5
Mrs K Moss (BA (Hons) QTS Year 5
Mr A Tedcastle BSc (Hons) PGCE QTS Year 6
Mr M Woodward BA (Hons), MSc, PGCE Music
Mrs S Foster-Major B Ed (Hons)QTS Drama
Mme V Hinchliffe MaƮtrise (Rennes) QTS French
Mrs D Loasby BA (Hons) PGCE QTS Design Technology
Mr N Elvidge Latham BSc (Hons) PGCE Games and PE
Mrs L Mirfin BSc (Hons) PGCE Games and PE
Mrs S Fairbank BSc (Hons) PGCE QTS Science
Ms Carol Longmire SEND/MAPS
Mrs K Lillywhite BA (Hons) PGCE QTS Learning Support
Senior School
Mr M Farn BA (Hons) PGCE Art & Design
Mr C Bell BA (Hons) PGCE Design Technology
Mrs N Rigby BA (Hons) PGCE Drama & Religion
Miss C Smith BA (Hons) PGCE English
Mrs D Loane BA (Hons) PGCE English & Film
Mrs D Loasby BA (Hons) PGCE Food Technology
Mrs V Hinchliffe MaƮtrise (Rennes) French
Dr S Shirtcliffe BA, MA, PhD, PGCE French
Miss N Leyland English
Mr I Davey BA (Hons) PGCE Geography
Mr S Glover BSc (Hons) Geography, History & Games
Miss K Baker MA, MA, PGCE Computer Studies
Mrs K Lillywhite BA (Hons) PGCE QTS Learning Support
Mr P Bunton BA (Hons) PGCE Mathematics
Mr P Birbeck MA (Cantab) PGCE Mathematics
Mr G Beckett Cert Ed Mathematics
Mr C Allison MA BA Mathematics
Mr C Motley BEd Mathematics & Games
Mrs M Pritchett BA (Hons) PGCE Music
Mr A Collis BMus (Hons) Music
Mr N Elvidge Latham BEd (Hons) PGCE PE & Games
Mrs L Mirfin BSc (Hons) PGCE PE & Games
Miss E Myhill BSc (Hons) QTS PE & Games
Miss V Pursehouse BSc (Hons) PGCE PE & Games
Mr J Herrick PE & Games
Mrs C Woodger PE & Games
Mrs R Wilcox BA (Hons) PGCE PSHEE & Post 16
Dr A Twitty PhD BSc (Hons) PGCE Science
Mr A Brown BSc (Hons) PGCE Science
Mrs N Staff BSc (Hons) Science
Mrs S Fairbank BSc (Hons) PGCE Science
Mr S Roberts BA (Hons) PGCE Spanish/French
Mrs R Wilcox BA (Hons) PGCE Spanish & French
Music Staff
Mr D Johnston Music
Mr K Walker & Mr C Walker Guitar
Miss G Walters BMus (Hons) Singing
Ms C Burchell BA (Hons) CT ABRSM Violin
Mr B Petty BA (Hons) Piano
Mr B Winter Woodwind & Brass
Support Staff
Mr A Wraith Curriculum Support Technician
Mrs L Korgul ASC/Lunch time Support NVQ Level 3
Mrs C Longmire HLTA, Dyslexia & Literacy Level 4
Mrs K Hales PG Dip Literacy & Dyslexia.
Mr J Jewitt BCS (Hons) Games Support
Mrs M Johnson MSc, BA Chinese TA
Mrs A Morton PA to the Headmaster/Office Administrator
Mrs F Walker Senior School Secretary LCCI Private Sec Cert.
Mrs J Kersley BA (Hons) Junior School Secretary & Marketing Assistant
Mrs C Whitehead Admissions/Admi Assistant
Mr S Needham Network Manager
Mr D Lawless Finance Assistant
Mrs C Jow Accounts Assistant
Mr G Dodds Caretaker
Mr N Lynch Groundsman
Friends of Westbourne Parent Group
Mr T Gedeon Chairperson
Mrs J Gedeon Vice Chairperson
Mrs S Walker Secretary
Mrs V Khan (Bursar) Treasurer

Your choice. Their future.

Order a prospectus